KES11 2020
Takaisin / Back

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert release new material

Listen to the first single from the upcoming album

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert release a new helping of hybrid soul in late 2020. On the new album Cargo you can hear how the band deftly combines its various blues influences from Mississippi delta to Chicago blues, yet at the same time their fearless music sprawls upwards and into many different directions. The upcoming album is a varied and unified whole filled with electric guitar music in which mood trumps technical virtuosity.

More so than the previous album Hybrid Soul, the new album highlights the laid-back union of like-minded guitarists Jarkka Rissanen and Markus Väisänen. The vistas created by the guitars are framed by Sons of the Desert’s solid rhythm section, which comprises of veteran percussionist Esa Kärki and the band’s newest member, seasoned bass player Ilpo Komulainen.

Frontman Jarkka Rissanen’s career has been long and illustrious. During the years he has played with many famous Finnish artists and bands such as Finnforest, Rauli Badding, Remu Aaltonen, Eero Raittinen, Pepe Ahlqvist etc. Cargo is the seventh album bearing Rissanen’s own name.

Humu Records releases Cargo in late 2020 in vinyl, CD and digital formats. Digital single Pow-Wow is released to streaming services on Friday June 12th as a taste of things to come.

Jarkka Rissanen & Sons of the Desert - Pow-Wow

Cargo tracklist
1. Tomcat
2. Rocking Chair
3. Cargo
4. Mousetrap
5. Tofu Queen
6. Pow-Wow
7. The Bull
8. Roll Call
9. Once Upon a Time

Label & information
Humu Records (Jaakko Ryynänen)

Humu Records

© humurecords, 2019

  • Humu Records / Jaakko Ryynänen
    Asemakatu 6b1
    70100 Kuopio

Youtube SoundCloud